AzBaja.com, Home of the VW Baja Bug  
BizStore » Books » Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town
United States Canada United Kingdom Germany France Japan

BizStore » Book
Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town
Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town

List Price: $17.00
Our Price: $10.39
You Save: $6.61 (39%)
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours
Manufacturer: Picador
Publisher: Picador
Author(s): Brian Alexander

Buy it now at Amazon.com!
Add To Cart
Product Description:
Binding: Paperback
EAN: 9781250165770
Edition: Reprint
ISBN: 1250165776
Item Dimensions: Array
Label: Picador
Languages: Array
Manufacturer: Picador
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 336
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Publisher: Picador
Release Date: 2018-01-02
Studio: Picador
Editorial Review:

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**

"A devastating read...For anyone wondering why swing-state America voted against the establishment in 2016, Mr. Alexander supplies plenty of answers." ―The Wall Street Journal

"This book hunts bigger game." ―Laura Miller, Slate

In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, discouraged, and fighting for its future. In Glass House, journalist Brian Alexander uses the story of one town to show how seeds sown 35 years ago have sprouted to give us Trumpism, inequality, and an eroding national cohesion.

The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world’s largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster’s society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster’s citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town’s biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster’s biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster’s real problems.


Buy it now at Amazon.com!
Based on Amazon Store Manager Copyright © 2005 - 2018 Nuke Business Resources
Amazon Store

If you see Errors please E-mail Eric (AT) AzBaja.com X XX XXX
azbaja.com Webutation

eXTReMe Tracker
XXXX
The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster. Any use, commercial or educational, requires written permission from the author.
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy