AzBaja.com, Home of the VW Baja Bug  
BizStore » Books » The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution
United States Canada United Kingdom Germany France Japan

BizStore » Book
The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution
The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

List Price: $39.95
Our Price: $23.67
You Save: $16.28 (41%)
Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Author(s): Yuri Slezkine

Buy it now at Amazon.com!
Add To Cart
Product Description:
Binding: Hardcover
Brand: University Press Group Ltd
EAN: 9780691176949
Edition: First Edition
Feature: University Press Group Ltd
ISBN: 9780691176949
Item Dimensions: Array
Label: Princeton University Press
Languages: Array
Manufacturer: Princeton University Press
MPN: 47161542
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 1128
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Publisher: Princeton University Press
Studio: Princeton University Press
Product Features:
University Press Group Ltd
Editorial Review:

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman’s Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine’s gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin’s purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children’s loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.


Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building’s residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.


Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.


Buy it now at Amazon.com!
Based on Amazon Store Manager Copyright © 2005 - 2018 Nuke Business Resources
Amazon Store

If you see Errors please E-mail Eric (AT) AzBaja.com X XX XXX
azbaja.com Webutation

eXTReMe Tracker
XXXX
The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster. Any use, commercial or educational, requires written permission from the author.
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy