AzBaja.com, Home of the VW Baja Bug  
BizStore » Books » The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever
United States Canada United Kingdom Germany France Japan

BizStore » Book
The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever
The Very Worst Missionary: A Memoir or Whatever

List Price: $16.00
Our Price: $11.00
You Save: $5.00 (31%)
Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours
Manufacturer: Convergent Books
Publisher: Convergent Books
Author(s): Jamie Wright

Buy it now at Amazon.com!
Add To Cart
Product Description:
Binding: Paperback
EAN: 9780451496539
ISBN: 0451496531
Item Dimensions: Array
Label: Convergent Books
Languages: Array
Manufacturer: Convergent Books
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 240
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Publisher: Convergent Books
Release Date: 2018-04-03
Studio: Convergent Books
Editorial Review:
“The reason you love Jamie (or are about to) is because she says exactly what the rest of us are thinking, but we’re too afraid to upset the apple cart. She is a voice for the outlier, and we’re famished for what she has to say.” --Jen Hatmaker, New York Times bestselling author of Of Mess and Moxie and For the Love
 
Wildly popular blogger "Jamie the Very Worst Missionary" delivers a searing, offbeat, often hilarious memoir of spiritual disintegration and re-formation.

 
As a quirky Jewish kid and promiscuous punkass teen, Jamie Wright never imagines becoming a Christian, let alone a Christian missionary. She is barely an adult when the trials of motherhood and marriage put her on an unexpected collision course with Jesus. After finding her faith at a suburban megachurch, Jamie trades in the easy life on the cul-de-sac for the green fields of Costa Rica. There, along with her family, she earnestly hopes to serve God and change lives. But faced with a yawning culture gap and persistent shortcomings in herself and her fellow workers, she soon loses confidence in the missionary enterprise and falls into a funk of cynicism and despair.

Nearly paralyzed by depression, yet still wanting to make a difference, she decides to tell the whole, disenchanted truth: Missionaries suck and our work makes no sense at all! From her sofa in Central America, she launches a renegade blog, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary, and against all odds wins a large and passionate following. Which leads her to see that maybe a "bad" missionary--awkward, doubtful, and vocal—is exactly what the world and the throngs of American do-gooders need. 

The Very Worst Missionary is a disarming, ultimately inspiring spiritual memoir for well-intentioned contrarians everywhere. It will appeal to readers of Nadia Bolz-Weber, Jen Hatmaker, Ann Lamott, Jana Reiss, Mallory Ortberg, and Rachel Held Evans.
Buy it now at Amazon.com!
Based on Amazon Store Manager Copyright © 2005 - 2018 Nuke Business Resources
Amazon Store

If you see Errors please E-mail Eric (AT) AzBaja.com X XX XXX
azbaja.com Webutation

eXTReMe Tracker
XXXX
The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster. Any use, commercial or educational, requires written permission from the author.
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy