AzBaja.com, Home of the VW Baja Bug  
Toggle ContentToggle Content
Toggle Content AzBaja Site info

Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: sunnytran234
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 3528

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 225
Total: 225
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: AMAZON.com
02: AMAZON.com
03: AMAZON.com
04: AMAZON.com
05: AMAZON.com
06: AMAZON.com
07: Baja Forums
08: AMAZON.com
09: AMAZON.com
10: AMAZON.com
11: AMAZON.com
12: AMAZON.com
13: AMAZON.com
14: AMAZON.com
15: Baja Forums
16: AMAZON.com
17: Baja Forums
18: AMAZON.com
19: AMAZON.com
20: AMAZON.com
21: AMAZON.com
22: AMAZON.com
23: AMAZON.com
24: Baja Forums
25: AMAZON.com
26: AMAZON.com
27: AMAZON.com
28: AMAZON.com
29: Baja Forums
30: Baja Forums
31: AMAZON.com
32: AMAZON.com
33: AMAZON.com
34: AMAZON.com
35: AMAZON.com
36: AMAZON.com
37: AMAZON.com
38: AMAZON.com
39: AMAZON.com
40: AMAZON.com
41: AMAZON.com
42: AMAZON.com
43: AMAZON.com
44: AMAZON.com
45: AMAZON.com
46: AMAZON.com
47: AMAZON.com
48: AMAZON.com
49: AMAZON.com
50: Baja Forums
51: Baja Forums
52: AMAZON.com
53: AMAZON.com
54: AMAZON.com
55: AMAZON.com
56: AMAZON.com
57: AMAZON.com
58: AMAZON.com
59: AMAZON.com
60: AMAZON.com
61: Baja Forums
62: AMAZON.com
63: AMAZON.com
64: AMAZON.com
65: AMAZON.com
66: Baja Forums
67: AMAZON.com
68: AMAZON.com
69: AMAZON.com
70: AMAZON.com
71: AMAZON.com
72: AMAZON.com
73: AMAZON.com
74: Baja Forums
75: Baja Forums
76: AMAZON.com
77: AMAZON.com
78: Baja Forums
79: AMAZON.com
80: AMAZON.com
81: Baja Forums
82: AMAZON.com
83: AMAZON.com
84: AMAZON.com
85: AMAZON.com
86: AMAZON.com
87: AMAZON.com
88: AMAZON.com
89: AMAZON.com
90: AMAZON.com
91: AMAZON.com
92: AMAZON.com
93: Baja Forums
94: AMAZON.com
95: AMAZON.com
96: Event Calendar
97: AMAZON.com
98: AMAZON.com
99: AMAZON.com
100: Event Calendar
101: AMAZON.com
102: AMAZON.com
103: AMAZON.com
104: Event Calendar
105: AMAZON.com
106: AMAZON.com
107: AMAZON.com
108: AMAZON.com
109: AMAZON.com
110: AMAZON.com
111: Baja Forums
112: Baja Forums
113: AMAZON.com
114: AMAZON.com
115: AMAZON.com
116: AMAZON.com
117: AMAZON.com
118: AMAZON.com
119: AMAZON.com
120: Home
121: AMAZON.com
122: AMAZON.com
123: Baja Forums
124: AMAZON.com
125: AMAZON.com
126: Baja Forums
127: AMAZON.com
128: AMAZON.com
129: AMAZON.com
130: AMAZON.com
131: AMAZON.com
132: AMAZON.com
133: Baja Forums
134: AMAZON.com
135: AMAZON.com
136: Baja Forums
137: AMAZON.com
138: AMAZON.com
139: Baja Forums
140: AMAZON.com
141: AMAZON.com
142: AMAZON.com
143: AMAZON.com
144: Baja Forums
145: AMAZON.com
146: AMAZON.com
147: AMAZON.com
148: AMAZON.com
149: Baja Forums
150: AMAZON.com
151: AMAZON.com
152: AMAZON.com
153: Baja Forums
154: AMAZON.com
155: AMAZON.com
156: AMAZON.com
157: AMAZON.com
158: AMAZON.com
159: AMAZON.com
160: AMAZON.com
161: AMAZON.com
162: AMAZON.com
163: Baja Forums
164: AMAZON.com
165: AMAZON.com
166: AMAZON.com
167: AMAZON.com
168: AMAZON.com
169: AMAZON.com
170: AMAZON.com
171: AMAZON.com
172: AMAZON.com
173: Baja Forums
174: AMAZON.com
175: AMAZON.com
176: AMAZON.com
177: AMAZON.com
178: AMAZON.com
179: AMAZON.com
180: AMAZON.com
181: Baja Forums
182: AMAZON.com
183: AMAZON.com
184: Baja Forums
185: AMAZON.com
186: AMAZON.com
187: AMAZON.com
188: AMAZON.com
189: AMAZON.com
190: AMAZON.com
191: AMAZON.com
192: Baja Forums
193: Baja Forums
194: AMAZON.com
195: AMAZON.com
196: Home
197: AMAZON.com
198: AMAZON.com
199: AMAZON.com
200: AMAZON.com
201: AMAZON.com
202: AMAZON.com
203: Baja Forums
204: Baja Forums
205: AMAZON.com
206: AMAZON.com
207: AMAZON.com
208: AMAZON.com
209: Baja Forums
210: AMAZON.com
211: AMAZON.com
212: AMAZON.com
213: AMAZON.com
214: AMAZON.com
215: AMAZON.com
216: AMAZON.com
217: AMAZON.com
218: AMAZON.com
219: AMAZON.com
220: Home
221: AMAZON.com
222: AMAZON.com
223: AMAZON.com
224: AMAZON.com
225: Event Calendar

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

Toggle Content GPS

Baja Forums -:- AzBaja.com Members -:- Projects and Builds -:- New project: ECOTEC!
Amazon Store

Updating Server
AzBaja.com is on new server. Any problems or strange things going on let me know so I can fix them ASAP - Thanks AzBaja aka Eric Hall

New project: ECOTEC!
Tell us about your Project, Were you at in tyour build. Post Pictures etc.
Users browsing this topic: None
Post new topic Reply to topic Printer Friendly Page
<
1 2 3 4 5 6
>
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
pepeazul
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

pepeazul

Offline

Joined: Jun 18, 2012
Posts: 98
Location: Tempe
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 08:09 AM
Reply with quote

hmm, unfortunately, I have the 2.2 or we could plug my PCM in. I'd be happy to swing by tomorrow and put another set of eyes on it if you'd like. Did you google the obd2 code?

If you end up needing a local guy with experience, I can get you a name or you can ask Foddrill... I think everyone uses the same guy, but can't remember his name.
Chris

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Conundrum
Staff SGT.
Staff SGT.

Conundrum

Offline

Joined: Jan 08, 2008
Posts: 729
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Karma: +5

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 05:01 PM
Reply with quote

Cool, at least you have a way of diagnosing.

I'm not sure how it knows the fuel pressure. It could be as simple as a switch (on/off) so you can connect the wires together and it thinks there's pressure?

Did you have a couple of extra wires that were not hooked up that go to the pump or oil sender?

I know a lot of cars, if there's no oil pressure, it won't turn on the fuel pump longer than the second or two for priming before cranking. Supposed to stop the Fuel from continuing to run on when the car gets wrecked and is a safety feature.


_________________
Like .02, Opinion is subject to inflation. 4x4 Table Mesa0-60 Baja
Back to top
View user's profile Skype
cycleguy1979
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

cycleguy1979

Offline

Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 54
Location: Surprise, AZ
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 05:25 PM
Reply with quote

pepeazul-I do have the 2.2-plugging in your ECM to my car may make it run. You are more than welcome to swing by today and see what i've got going on. Never know, maybe it's as simple as the vats not being disabled properly, that's the last thing my buddy and I narrowed it down to. Every single thing on the wire harness phil built for me plugs into something on the engine. We triple checked everything, and it all looks to be in order. Shoot me a PM if you want to come out to wittmann today and plug your ecm in. Mine is a 2008, not sure what year yours is.


_________________
Ecotec 2.2 out of a 2008 cobalt. 4 seat sand cars unlimited. Swing axle trans.
Back to top
View user's profile
PaDan
Sergeant
Sergeant

PaDan

Offline

Joined: Nov 15, 2010
Posts: 384
Location: Twin Falls, Idaho
Karma: +2

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 05:52 PM
Reply with quote

On my 3.5 I have to run the fuel pump with the ecm. The ecm supplies 12 volts to the fuel pump relay to turn it on and off. You really should let it run the pump.

Back to top
View user's profile AIM Address
cycleguy1979
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

cycleguy1979

Offline

Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 54
Location: Surprise, AZ
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 06:09 PM
Reply with quote

How would I let the ECM run the fuel pump? The wire harness I had made up for me only had 3 wires to connect to something. One wire was ground, one was constant power, and the other was ignition/switched power.


_________________
Ecotec 2.2 out of a 2008 cobalt. 4 seat sand cars unlimited. Swing axle trans.
Back to top
View user's profile
pepeazul
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

pepeazul

Offline

Joined: Jun 18, 2012
Posts: 98
Location: Tempe
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: Re: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 09:36 PM
Reply with quote

Hmm, mine is an 05. It has the modular coil assembly and manual throttle body. I wonder if the PCM's would interchange. There is a picture of mine in one of the pics I posted a while back...

Anyhow, couple things crossed my mind.
1. you said if fired on either, which suggests to me that you have a fuel delivery issue. Do you know how much pressure you have to the fuel rail?

2. Any chance you using a key switch? The cheap switches that they sell at Checker, etc are notoriously flaky. I just remembered that i had an issue with my switch. You may want to verify that your constant power and your switched power to the harness are working properly.

Chris

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
cycleguy1979
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

cycleguy1979

Offline

Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 54
Location: Surprise, AZ
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:14 PM
Reply with quote

I am using a toggle with on/off and spring loaded start. There is a ton of fuel pressure on the rail. I am using a fuel pressure regulator that phil recommended for the corvette. The injectors just will not fire.


_________________
Ecotec 2.2 out of a 2008 cobalt. 4 seat sand cars unlimited. Swing axle trans.
Back to top
View user's profile
cycleguy1979
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

cycleguy1979

Offline

Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 54
Location: Surprise, AZ
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:15 PM
Reply with quote

I am using a toggle with on/off and spring loaded start. There is a ton of fuel pressure on the rail. I am using a fuel pressure regulator that phil recommended for the corvette. The injectors just will not fire.


_________________
Ecotec 2.2 out of a 2008 cobalt. 4 seat sand cars unlimited. Swing axle trans.
Back to top
View user's profile
1engineer
Corporal
Corporal

1engineer

Offline

Joined: Mar 14, 2012
Posts: 100
Location: tempe AZ
Karma: +2

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 05:04 AM
Reply with quote

cycleguy1979 the injectors are fired thru the engine cotrol module but it gets its signal to fire from the pick-up located inside the distributor if you are loosing injector pulse only the ignition module is bad or connected/programmed wrong if you are also loosing spark when you loose injector pulse your pick up is causing the problem. Your fuel pressure after the regulator should be 52+psi. Vats system would block cranking/starting as well but does not sound like that is your issue here. Ray


_________________
will have to create one later
Back to top
View user's profile
pepeazul
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

pepeazul

Offline

Joined: Jun 18, 2012
Posts: 98
Location: Tempe
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: Re: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 06:33 AM
Reply with quote

There is no distributor, but a bad connection/problem with the crank trigger maybe??

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
1engineer
Corporal
Corporal

1engineer

Offline

Joined: Mar 14, 2012
Posts: 100
Location: tempe AZ
Karma: +2

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 08:52 AM
Reply with quote

Right, older models used distributor, then pickup was moved the to crank with a 7 point pickup, then the newest with 58 pickups (industry standard now). They do the same thing, just different location. And the ECU/PCM picked up the workload of the separate ignition module. Using starting fluid to run the engine a couple of times for 10 - 15 seconds rules out timing & electrical. Be aware if testing the injectors that there is a steady hot current with key on and that the PCM pulses the ground and not the hot side of the circuit. More of a German VW type circuit than a normal American standard for what old timers would expect. if memory serves, fuel injector electrical testing should be done with a 'noid' light as some normal test lights will damage the injector drivers (PCM), but don't remember if the newer systems are more vulnerable or the older ones with a dedicated ignition module tied to distributor.


_________________
will have to create one later
Back to top
View user's profile
cycleguy1979
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

cycleguy1979

Offline

Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 54
Location: Surprise, AZ
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 03:41 PM
Reply with quote

I'm gonna call phil again today to see if I can get in touch with him. I'm sure he could clear up this problem, if he will answer the phone.


_________________
Ecotec 2.2 out of a 2008 cobalt. 4 seat sand cars unlimited. Swing axle trans.
Back to top
View user's profile
Conundrum
Staff SGT.
Staff SGT.

Conundrum

Offline

Joined: Jan 08, 2008
Posts: 729
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Karma: +5

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:16 AM
Reply with quote

I hope you got a hold of him as you have me stumped... Hey no jokes. LOL


_________________
Like .02, Opinion is subject to inflation. 4x4 Table Mesa0-60 Baja
Back to top
View user's profile Skype
cycleguy1979
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

cycleguy1979

Offline

Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 54
Location: Surprise, AZ
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 04:56 AM
Reply with quote

Ok here's today's update. I called phil this morning and got in touch with him, he has been really busy. I told him what's going on, and he says he definitely had the VATS completely disabled in the computer, so that wouldn't be the problem. Then, we went through the wiring questions, everything sounded right to him. He asked me what kind of fuel pump I was using, and I told him it's a walbro inline that I took off my 2332 VW. He says "that's you problem"...Apparently, being fuel injected, the regular carbureted fuel pumps only put out about 15psi, and this thing requires 58psi. He says there wouldn't have been near enough fuel pressure to open the fuel injectors. So he told me to go get a E2000 pump at any parts house, it will work great. Also, told me I can't use regular fuel line or it will blow up to the size of a garden hose. So I picked up the new pump and hose and installed it this evening. I was certain this was the problem and that it would fire right up. Nope, didn't exactly fire right up. I pulled the intake elbow off and poured some fuel into it while my wife cranked it. About 8oz of fuel later(drizzling it in to keep it running), the thing started running all on it's own!!!! I'm so happy I don't know what to do with myself. This has been a long time coming. All I have left before I can leave it running for longer than 30 seconds is to button up the coolant lines and fill the radiator, then it can run and I can make sure everything is working properly.


_________________
Ecotec 2.2 out of a 2008 cobalt. 4 seat sand cars unlimited. Swing axle trans.
Back to top
View user's profile
pepeazul
Private 1st class
Private 1st class

pepeazul

Offline

Joined: Jun 18, 2012
Posts: 98
Location: Tempe
Karma: 0

Post Post subject: Re: New project: ECOTEC!
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 05:12 AM
Reply with quote

Glad to hear you got it figured.

You might want to check for a large 3/4 inch diameter rubber hose that comes out below the throttle body, pointing towards the bellhousing. Not sure if all these motors have it, but mine did, and at first I was thinking crankcase breather until I realized it was actually vacuum for a brake booster. Plugging it off of course had a huge impact on how well the motor ran.

Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
<
1 2 3 4 5 6
>
Post new topic Reply to topic Printer Friendly Page

 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
Normal
No new posts Projects and Builds My 69 project
[ Go to pageGo to page: 1 ... 74, 75, 76 ]
1135 Dalton 189860 My 69 project
 Sat Apr 22, 2017 03:28 PM 
Azdrtdog View latest post
No new posts Projects and Builds Project II
[ Go to pageGo to page: 1 ... 4, 5, 6 ]
88 Dirtjunkie 38150 Project II
 Wed Oct 19, 2016 04:50 PM 
Dirtjunkie View latest post
No new posts Projects and Builds My project
[ Go to pageGo to page: 1 ... 3, 4, 5 ]
65 PaDan 38063 Re: My project
 Thu Feb 11, 2016 07:07 PM 
PaDan View latest post
No new posts Projects and Builds project 6911 (aka) JINX 10 TINMAN 4627 Re: new project
 Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:58 AM 
TINMAN View latest post
No new posts New Members Thinking about a Baja Bug project, need advice.
[ Go to pageGo to page: 1, 2, 3 ]
38 NoKnowledgeCollegKid 11515 Thinking about a Baja ...
 Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:01 PM 
AzBaja View latest post
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Toggle Content Picture Box

Toggle Content Great things to Buy

Toggle Content Other Sites

Toggle Content Parts - For your Car

If you see Errors please E-mail Eric (AT) AzBaja.com X XX XXX
azbaja.com Webutation

eXTReMe Tracker
XXXX
The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster. Any use, commercial or educational, requires written permission from the author.
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy